My America – My Union

By: Vincenzo Di Rosa

CWA Local 1111

My America is not a sweatshop, one bowl of rice, or a five dollar day.

My America is a living wage.

My Union gave that to me.

My America is not a breadline, a soup kitchen, an unemployment check.

My America is job security and a contract.

My Union gave that to me.

My America is not a lost eye, a broken back, a foot, a hand.

My America is a safe workplace.

My Union gave that to me.

My America is not a plastic thing, a disposable nothing from somewhere.

My America is quality, integrity, and permanence.

My Union gave that to me.

My America is not a call on the carpet, a closed door,

One voice unheard.

My America is equality and representation.

My Union gave that to me.

My America is our America.

My America is Our Union.

We are United, Defiant, and Strong

Leave a Reply

