WHEN MEN DO NOTHING… by Stephen McArthur

(Inspired by Martin Niemoller’s “When they came for me…”)

 First, he began to tell her what to wear, and I did nothing because, obviously, he cares what she looks like.

 Then, he came home from a bad day at work and told her the house looked like crap and said she was a pig, and I did nothing because it is his house, isn’t it?

 Then, he started calling her bitch and stupid fat whore when he was angry, and I did nothing because I give money to breast cancer research and wear a pink ribbon;

 Then, he warned her not to go anywhere with her bitchy best friend, and I did nothing because he was just trying to protect her;

 Then, when she did meet her best friend for lunch, he put his fist through the wall a foot from her head, seething with anger and spittle, and I did nothing because he did tell her not to, didn’t he?

 Then, he told her not to go anywhere without him, and I did nothing because it’s not really my business;

 Then, when she did, he showed her the gun he bought, and I did nothing because I am active in the peace movement;

 Then, when she threatened to call the police, he told her they wouldn’t believe her, and I did nothing because the cops can handle this type of thing;

Then, when she told him she didn’t want to have sex anymore and he forced her, I did nothing because she’s his wife, isn’t she?

 And then, when she said she was leaving him, he said he would commit suicide if she did, and I did nothing because it was just an idle threat;

 And then when she did leave, he found her and shot her, and I did nothing because it was too late.

 And besides, isn’t there some kind of woman’s group that could have dealt with this?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

